What do I want? A millennial’s viewpoint on the dating world.

“I’m looking for a full-time job, not a man.”

I’ve been preparing for the adult world for the past 4 years; classes in math, nutrition, and PR. One thing that my university didn’t have classes in? When the right time is to settle down.

When asked if I’m seeing someone I have a habit of saying “I’m looking for a full-time job, not a man.” But there’s more truth to that than sarcasm would suggest.

Straying away from tradition, millennials today are much more focused on career than anything else. This can be attributed to the fact that millennials face many financial burdens if they want to get an education in order to start a career.

When it comes to personal priorities, my professional life is much higher on my list than my dating life. Is this a bad thing? Should I be concerned that work is more important than love?

My thought is that I shouldn’t rush dating. I’m 21, I have 60 years (hopefully) to find somebody and start a family.

I’m not going to rush dating right now. I don’t even want to think about marriage until my early 30’s. This way I can focus on my career and be comfortable in supporting myself. So while some friends are starting families and settling down. This millenneal is not worried about finding a man to wife up.

 

Comment :)

